Soul Train Awards 2012 Winner List & Performances

Soul Train Awards 2012 Complete Winners List: Miguel, Elle Varner, Tyrese, Beyonce & John Legend Take Home Top Honors!! Soul Train Awards 2012, held at Planet Hollywood Live in Las Vegas, were simulcast on BET and Centric on November 25th at 8PM ET/PT. Hosted by Cedric the Entertainer, the ceremony honored New Edition with the Lifetime Achievement Award, paid tribute to late Soul Train founder, Don Cornelius while featuring stellar performances from some of the biggest names in entertainment including Stevie Wonder, Elle Varner, John Legend, Miguel, Fantasia, Charlie Wilson, Fantasia, New Edition, Ne-Yo, Leah LaBelle, 2 Chainz, TGT and Marcus Canty.

Celebrities from music, film, sports and television such as Jamie Foxx, Elise Neal, Eddie Levert, Billy Crystal, Earvin “Magic” Johnson, Melanie Fiona, Jody Watley, Doug E. Fresh, Tony Rock, Luke James, Estelle, Donny and Marie Osmond, Vampire Diaries star Kat Graham and Tamar Braxton, joined Soul Train in celebrating some of the best musical contributions of 2012.

In tribute to Don Cornelius, whose contributions to music changed the landscape of the industry, the Soul Train Awards 2012 featured video vignettes from old broadcasts, as well as moving words from his son, Tony Cornelius, and Soul Train standout, Jody Watley, who attributed much of her success to Cornelius and Soul Train.

New Edition, whose career has spanned 30 years, followed their moving Lifetime Achievement Award acceptance speech with a performance of their hits: “Candy Girl,” “Telephone Man,” and “If It Isn’t Love.” The Soul Train Awards 2012 came to blockbuster finale with a stirring performance by the “8th Wonder of the World,” Stevie Wonder, which turned into a massive celebration of President-Elect Barak Obama when his hit “Superstition” was followed by a performance of “Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I’m Yours.” The performance was accompanied by a projected photo tribute to The President.

From Beyonce and Elle Varner to Miguel and Tyrese, check out the full list of winners at the 2012 Soul Train Awards. 

The 2012 Soul Train Awards Winners are:
Best New Artist: Elle Varner
Centric Award: Leah LaBelle
Best Gospel/ Inspirational Performance: Whitney Houston & Jordin Sparks’ “Celebrate”
Best Hip Hop Song of the Year: Kanye West ft. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz’s “Mercy”
Best R&B/ Soul Female Artist: Beyonce
Best R&B/ Soul Male Artist: Miguel
Album of the Year: Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange
Song of the Year: Tyrese’s “Stay”
The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award: “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”: John Legend ft. Ludacris
Best Dance Performance: Beyonce – “Love On Top” Best Caribbean Performance: Sean Paul’s “Tomahawk Technique” Best International Performance: Estelle’s “Thank You” Best Independent R&B/ Soul Artist or Group: Eric Roberson Best Traditional Jazz Artist/ Group: TIE
*The Robert Glasper Experiment: Black Radio
*Tony Bennett — Isn’t It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/ Group: Esperanza Spalding-Radio Music Society
Missed the big show? Don’t fret. Encore presentations of the Soul Train Awards 2012 will air:
· Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 7:30pm ET/PT on BET
Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 9pm ET/PT on BET
Thursday, December 6, 2012 at 9pm ET/PT on BET
Saturday, December 8, 2012 at 5:30pm ET/PT on Centric
Friday, December 14, 2012 at 8pm ET/PT on Centric

Thank you HipHopNews